Betting Blog

The Ashes 2019 Lowdown: Venues, Dates & Head to Head Records

What is the Ashes?

The Ashes is a biennial series of Test matches played between England and Australia where both sides compete to win or retain the Ashes urn. It consists of five test matches each taking a maximum of five days each. This is the 71st edition of the Ashes since it was first held back in 1882.

What is the head to head record?

The Ashes head-to-head record is tight, with Australia winning on 33 occasions, England winning on 32 occasions and just 5 of the 70 series ending in a draw. On the overall test records, there have been 330 tests played in the Ashes with Australia winning 134 tests, England winning 106 tests and 90 tests ending in a draw.

Australia to Win the Ashes
England vs Australia

Who are the current holders?

Australia are the current holders of the Ashes, winning the 2017-18 series by 4 tests to 0 with 1 test ending a draw. England have a decent recent record in the Ashes winning 4 of the last 6 tests. England have won the last 4 Ashes series that have been held in England.

What are the grounds?

This Ashes series is held across five grounds, those are as follows:

First Test – Edgbaston (August 1st-5th)
Second Test – Lord’s (August 14th-18th)
Third Test – Headingley (August 22nd-26th)
Fourth Test – Old Trafford (September 4th-8th)
Fifth Test – The Oval (September 12th-16th)

View our ground by ground analysis and how that will affect the Ashes.

How can i bet on the Ashes?

We have you covered, we will be having Ashes betting tips for all five test matches along with pre-tournament Cricket tips for the series. Click here to view our free cricket predictions

England to Win the Ashes
England vs Australia
Sign Up To The FST Newsletter For Exclusive Tips!

18+ only.

Sign Up To The FST Newsletter For Exclusive Tips!

18+ only.

Free Bets & Offers